MIDDLE EAST – ID 217

The Family and their Ministry   ID 217

We’re Jamie and Amanda, looking for a nanny or homeschool helper (or a bit of both!) for our family. We believe that if our family is thriving then our ministry can keep thriving, so the nanny would be serving us but also the greater work of seeking movements of disciples through her role. We have lived in the Middle East for the past 8 years and have 3 wonderful, fun-loving boys—Shepherd (2013), Immanuel (2017) and Shiloh (2021).

Responsibilities for a nanny would be helping care for our kids, taking them to play outside, and being around when we need a helping hand. There would be off hours and certain days off that we can figure out together as we see what schedule suits everyone best. Responsibilities for a homeschool helper would include facilitating our older 2 sons’ learning in third grade homeschool curriculum and preschool curriculum—an easily understood program that is enjoyable and easy to catch on to. Third grade would be 5 days a week about 3 hours each day, and preschool would be a bit more flexible, perhaps 4 days a week for an hour each day. There would also be flexibility for her to pursue time in our spiritual community, ministry opportunities with refugees or others, and encounters with locals.

God has given us a big vision to see movements of reproducing disciples of Jesus, cascading into more movements of disciples of Jesus! We’ve learned the local language and have experimented with unique, innovative ways of exposing locals to Jesus and the opportunity to go deeper if they’re seeking him.

Primary duty: Nanny/Homeschool helper

Meal Prep? No

House Cleaning? No

Child Care/Baby Sitting? Yes

Tutoring? Yes possibly

Driving? No

Food Shopping? No

Laundry? No

Other duties or comments: While in the middle of an unstable region, the place we live is a very safe, open, and developing place. There is a significant expat presence in the area. We love to have fun and particularly love the region for the hiking, hospitality of the local people, natural beauty, archaeology, and—of course—the ways God is moving among the people coming to him. We are flexible and want to stay flexible to what our nanny’s hopes and desires are, so we’re open to discussion on all of these things! We’d love to chat with you if you have any questions and share more!

Desired start date: Fall 2021

Hours/day: Mornings 9-12, afternoons 2-5 (we are flexible on this!)

Days/week: 4 or 5

Food charge? No

Other expenses: Any extra travel or shopping, meals out or time on her own (like taxi rides). We are willing to help with travel to our country and we can discuss this together.

MN’s room, bath: Private room in our 4-bedroom home, shared common space, shared bath with kids.

Doctor? Yes, many

Hospital? Yes, many

I’net/cell service? Yes

MN’s arrival airport: There is an airport in our city

Meet plane? Yes

Anything else? Thank you for considering this special way to serve and glorify God among the nations!

View Opening