The Family and their Ministry               34

“We are a family of five (3 daughters) and have been doing missionary work in Fiji since 2002. We are serving with the Pioneers Mission doing community development among the poor. We operate a farm program called Oasis Farm. We also host short-term church and university outreaches, as well as run a semester study-abroad program called Island Encounters.

Our three girls were born in 2003, 2005, and 2009.

We need a nanny who could primarily help with home-schooling our girls in order to enable us to focus on the running of the ministry. The older two are pretty independent but need someone to supervise their online schooling. The youngest one would need a little bit more assistance. You don’t need to be a teacher! This would be a good placement for a young woman (18 – 24 years) who is interested in future cross-cultural service and would like to learn more about life on the mission field, who would fit in well and feel at home with our family, and is teachable and willing to serve where needed. Fiji is a great place for life and ministry, and it makes it easy that English is the trade language here.

Web site: Their mission organization:  and our Fiji ministry is


Facebook: Island Encounters

Primary Need: Tutor – teacher for young children.

Meal Prep? Some help occasionally.

House Cleaning? No

Child Care? Once in awhile.

Food Shopping? No

Laundry? No

Other duties?

Daily Hours: 7:30 – 3:00 or so, “Fiji time”

Days per week: 5

Food charge? No

Other Charges: Sometimes we have teams come from the USA on missions trips. If our nanny wanted to travel with or do some of the excursions with a team, that would be additional cost. About $200/month should be enough for personal expenses, entertainment, etc. and some possible excursions.

Room: We have a cute guest house/tree house in our front yard built with this kind of thing in mind. There is a sink and toilet inside this guest house, but the nanny would shower inside our house. She would always be welcome to be with us in the house whenever she’d like, but would be able to retreat to her guest house when she wanted privacy.

Doctor: Yes

Hospital: Yes

Airport: Nadi, Fiji (NAN)

Meet the Plane? Yes. We live 5 minutes from the airport!