The Family and their Ministry    ID 173

Gregory & Sinuon have been married for 10 years and are permanently living in Cambodia as Sinuon is a Cambodian citizen. We have three children, Richard (2011), Julianne (2013) and Elena (2017). Our children currently attend local schools but need help with tutoring. I (Greg) am not great at teaching and am usually busy with work while Sinuon takes care of the home, however, she has very limited education and it is difficult for her to help our children with more complicated lessons.

Our ministry support various local projects, the most prominent of which is a ministry to support street children to attend school. The candidate would be welcome to participate in general assistance or teaching English at our center on a regular basis or provide spiritual support for our local team.

Serving with: Crossing Cambodia, House #168, Group 7, Wat Romdol Village, Chamkar Samrong Commune, Battamban, Batdambang, Cambodia

Website:  Crossing Cambodia

Service Location:  Battambang, Cambodia

Primary duty: Watch children and provide tutoring

Meal Prep? No

House Cleaning? Only in their living space

Child Care/Baby Sitting? Yes

Tutoring? Yes

Driving? Maybe. If the nanny is comfortable and capable of driving safely in Cambodia we may have them take the kids out to activities or help take them to and pick up from school.

Food Shopping? No

Laundry? No

Other duties or comments: The primary duty will be to help care for children in the afternoons and provide tutoring as needed to help keep them on par with their grade levels.

Desired start date: September 1, 2018

Hours/day: 12pm to 5pm (flexible)

Days/week: 5

Food charge? No, but she might not want to eat everything we cook. Western foods tend to cost much more so they’d need to foot that bill themselves if they want more western fare.

Other expenses: Some utility expenses if they wish to regularly make use of the AC as electricity is rather expensive in Cambodia. We will provide fans but they will need to contribute to utilities if they want to make use of the AC unit. Likely not more than $25/month in the hot season.

MN’s room, bath: The room is our guest room, it is 6m by 6m in size and has beds, a desk, a small private lounge area, and a coffee station with a private mini-fridge.

The bathrooms are detached and slightly behind the building (about 25ft) They are shared bathrooms but have hot and cold running water.

Doctor? Yes. There is an English doctor living in Battambang who provided free medical care as is needed to missionaries.

Hospital? Yes.

I’net/cell service? Yes.

MN’s arrival airport: Phnom Penh

Meet plane? Yes

Anything else? We’d like the nanny to help specifically with our 2 older children as they need tutoring. Normally they attend a local school but the educational standards there are not up to par. So we’d like them to attend local school in the mornings and learn in Khmer, and in the afternoons have the nanny work with them on basic curriculum like the Brain Quest books to make sure they are learning to read and write in English and keep up with their respective grade levels. Also this would free time up for other extra-curricular activities.

View Opening