UNITED STATES, ALASKA- ID 176

The Family and their Ministry    ID 176

James and Rachel Ventress serve in Nome, Alaska, a community of about 3500 people on the coast of the Bering Sea. James runs an after-school drop-in center for at-risk youth (predominantly Alaska Native youth) and serves as the missionary youth pastor for our local church congregation. Rachel runs an in-home daycare and works part-time coordinating the homeschool program for the local school district. Their home is a regular gathering place for church and community youth, including those recently released from the juvenile justice system.

James and Rachel have five spunky, outgoing children: Silas (10/15/13) attends our local elementary school, and loves building legos, building blocks, playing outside, singing songs, and telling stories. Mercedes (01/08/16) loves reading books, playing with dolls, giving hugs and kisses, and anything pink and sparkly. Theodore (02/29/16) loves sports, animals, building things, and making sure things are done right. Mercedes and Theodore are considered “virtual twins” since they are only 7 weeks apart due to the blessing of adoption. They both attend our local preschool. Juniper (9/2018) loves arts and crafts, climbing, reading books, and doing whatever the “big kids” are doing. Elsie (03/17/20) is the sweetest little bundle of smiles and chubbiness.

We are looking forward to finding a nanny who can help support our family with our young children being so close in age, and to help free up mostly James to further invest in ministry here in Nome. Our last mission nanny was very much a “mental health” relief to Rachel as she is often alone with all the children while James is at Checkpoint and invested in local ministry. Last year, thanks to the assistance from our mission nanny, James was able to daily mentor a local youth through a work-study program with our local school. The more help we have, the more James is able to invest his time away from home and into ministry aside from the bare minimum requirements of his position.

Serving with: Covenant Youth of Alaska

Website: www.cyak.org/nome-youth-ministry.html

Service Location: Nome, Alaska, US

Primary duty: Childcare and light housekeeping

Meal Prep? Yes

House Cleaning? Yes

Child Care/Baby Sitting? Yes

Tutoring? No

Driving? Yes (but optional)

Food Shopping? No

Laundry? Yes

Other duties or comments: We have a private bedroom with a comfortable queen-sized bed with a shared full bathroom for the nanny. We do have a small dog.

Desired start date: For 2019-2020 school year

Hours/day: 8 am – 3 pm OR 1-9 pm depending on the day and James’ schedule.

Days/week: 5 days per week

Other expenses: No – We are willing to help cover all basic expenses including utilities, internet, food, transportation, etc.

MN’s room, bath: We have a private bedroom with a comfortable queen-sized bed with shared full bathroom for the nanny.

Doctor? Yes

Hospital? Limited hospital—emergency facilities but no anesthesiologist

I’net/cell service? Yes, but mostly only AT&T or local carrier.

MN’s arrival airport: Nome Airport

Meet plane? Yes

Anything else? Valid driver’s license is preferred but not required.  With our last mission nanny, we paid an hourly rate for assisting with the daycare (we have 5 other small children and one other assistant Monday-Friday to fill in our income gap from Rachel not working full-time). These tasks included meal prep, playing with children, changing diapers, etc.

Locations